Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-26-2016
Accepted Solution

6d unresponsive

While shooting with my 6d the screen went completely blank and now none of the buttons are working but the shooter. 

 

If I try to turn it on in automatic it goes completely insane, changing all the values and trying to focus even when I'm not pressing the shooter. 

 

 

has anyone had the same issues? 

Super Contributor
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: 6d unresponsive

Remove the battery and the SD card. Then insert the battery back in.

 

Turn on the camera. Press the menu button. Select to clear all camera settings and clear all custom Func. (C.Fn)

 

See if it works.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-26-2016

Re: 6d unresponsive

the camera won't let me go into the menu Smiley Sad

Super Contributor
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: 6d unresponsive

[ Edited ]

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-restore-canon-eos-6d-default-settings.html

 

http://support-au.canon.com.au/contents/AU/EN/8201712600.html

 

Some Canon cameras have a clock battery for hard reset. Unfortunately, 6D has this battery inside and you won't be able to remove it.

 

 

http://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2012/11/a-peek-inside-the-6d/ So, if you can't make it work, ask Canon Repair Service.

Super Contributor
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: 6d unresponsive

BTW, if the LCD display is not showing anything, you may try connect your camera to the PC and see if the EOS utility can change some settings.

 

The problem is probably an out of order PCB (motherboard) or LCD display. Canon Repair will fix it.

VIP
Posts: 10,922
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 6d unresponsive

Call Canon Support.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-26-2016

Re: 6d unresponsive

Thanks everyone for your help! In the end I drained the inner battery out and the next morning, when I put the big battery back on, the camera was back to normal.

Super Contributor
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: 6d unresponsive

Good to know that you have a workable 6D now.

 

BTW, what have you done to drain the internal battery overnight ?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-26-2016

Re: 6d unresponsive

I let even the main battery on, the camera wouldn't stop trying to find a focus point so it was always busy and it wouldn't turn off. 

 

After that happened and the camera had so little battery that it wouldn't turn on completely, I started to turn it off and on a couple of times, pressing also the shutter. The first couple of times I did this the red light near the flash card would still turn on. After that stopped happening I still pressed the shutter a little more just to be sure.

 

I guess I could have skipped the first part.

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 279
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: 6d unresponsive

That may be useful to hard reset cameras with built in battery.

 

Thanks.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement