Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 730
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: 6d Focusing Problems

[ Edited ]

@perklax wrote:

A lot of it is stuff like this. Nothing is in focus and it's all blurry. Settings were 1/150th, f/5.0 and iso 1000. I made the shutter longer to account for the fact that I was missing focus, which I thought was that I wasnt stopped down enough. But I'm not sure what the real problem is. Motion blur?


Seems like camera shake to me. But at 1/150 you should have made it without any problems. Try a tripod or monopod.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, EOS DCS 3c, EOS D2000, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.10.6.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: 6d Focusing Problems

That's what most of the out of focus looks like. It looks like slight blur and then a lot of noise is added also

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,883
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 6d Focusing Problems


@perklax wrote:

A lot of it is stuff like this. Nothing is in focus and it's all blurry. Settings were 1/150th, f/5.0 and iso 1000. I made the shutter longer to account for the fact that I was missing focus, which I thought was that I wasnt stopped down enough. But I'm not sure what the real problem is. Motion blur?


What focal length?  Subject distance?  Here is a depth of field, online calculator.

 

http://www.dofmaster.com/doftable.html

 

It does look a little soft.  I think the first thing to correct is the high ISO. You are definitely losing detail.  Drop the ISO as low as you can squeeze it.  Don't be afraid to open up the aperture, either.  Use the above link, to help guide you in setting up shots. 

 

A tripod can take camera motion out of the equation.  I would also use the tripod to level the camera, too, for these types of shots.  Look at the brick lines.  Use a remote shutter switch, or the camera's shutter delay timer, to further eliminate camera motion.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: 6d Focusing Problems

Yeah I jacked up the iso because I thought that the wide aperture was the problem, so maybe that's another thing to focus on. And yeah the bricks are an issue. I straightened them after the fact. But this was using the 50mm at around 8-10ft. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: 6d Focusing Problems

IMG_5249.jpg

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: 6d Focusing Problems

This is at 1/250th at f/3.5 and iso 500. It's not bad and is usable, but just not super sharp. Is that just the nature of the light or is that an issue with me?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: 6d Focusing Problems

that's also the unedited image

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,883
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 6d Focusing Problems


@perklax wrote:

Yeah I jacked up the iso because I thought that the wide aperture was the problem, so maybe that's another thing to focus on. And yeah the bricks are an issue. I straightened them after the fact. But this was using the 50mm at around 8-10ft. 


According to the DoF calculator at the link I posted, you should have had at least two feet of DoF at 50mm, f/5 at a distance of 8-10 feet, which should have been sufficient DoF to nail the shot.

 

I agree with the opiinon that the shutter speed should have been sufficient, although faster is always better for portraits, IMHO.  You may be in need of an AFMA, Auto Focus Micro-Adjustment, with the lens to really nail the focus.  Google " Dot Tune ".

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎06-01-2016

Re: 6d Focusing Problems

I've been thinking that I might need to fine tune the autofocus. It's not a brand new camera, so that might have something to do with it also. That might be the route to take/look into. 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,883
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 6d Focusing Problems


@perklax wrote:

I've been thinking that I might need to fine tune the autofocus. It's not a brand new camera, so that might have something to do with it also. That might be the route to take/look into. 


I like the second shot better.  It must be the ISO difference.  You could eliminate Auto Focus as an issue by taking some test shots, and manually focusing using Live View magnified to 10x.  Experiment at different ISO values to observe noise levels.

 

http://www.learn.usa.canon.com/resources/articles/2015/tips-for-getting-sharp-images.shtml

 

I don't think the age of the camera is an issue.  Except for the shutter and mirror, it's a digital device.  It will basically either work properly, or it won't work at all.  I would say that your camera is fine.  Open up the aperture, and drop the ISO. Smiley Wink

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement