cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6D to EOS RP or EOS R!!

kenyangomes
Apprentice

I am really conflicted on what to do.

If I upgrade my 6D to an EOS RP will I need noticeable difference in IQ. I already know the auto focus will be really improved. I do not shoot video so the EOS RP shortcomings in that dept. really don't effect me.

I could also get the EOS R but if I can save $1000 I am all for it.

Thanks for the help.

8 REPLIES 8

shadowsports
Legend
Legend

Greetings,

Due to battery life and my modest EF lens investment, I'm not ready for either at this point, but if I had to do one or the other I'd buy the RP.

I'm not a professional photographer.  The R shares the same sensor as the 5D4, the RP the 6D2.  The RP body is a little smaller and I like that.  The R has a top panel LCD, I use this more than I thought I would on my 6D2, but most say the dial on the RP makes up for the lack of the LCD on the RP.

The RP also has a focus bracketing feature for unlimited DOF.  R does not, but of course the sensor in the R is 5D4 proven and with the electrical enhacements mirrorless offers is nothing to shake a stick at. 

The real story is this.  No one can tell you which camera is going to work best for you since we all have different reqiirements and use our camera's differently.  The price of the RP is attractive, but the real investment is going to be in your glass.

R is first gen, RP second gen.  Neither are ready for prime time (my opinion).  But again, for some either might meet their needs and make them very happy.  I view both as stepping stones,  So I would do the RP and start investing in glass.. then upgrade my body to Gen 3 or 4 when ready.  But what I would do may not be what's best for you.

Others here will have great insight and will chime in I'm sure. 

~Rick
Bay Area - CA