cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6D mkii shutter release issue

kmtenor
Apprentice

Hello. 

I have a 6D Mark ii that is about 10 months old.  Sometime in the last several months, the shutter button stopped working properly.  On any SLR I've ever had before, when I mash all the way down on the shutter button, the camera fires, and (in High-speed Continuous shutter release mode), keeps firing until I let go.  Suddenly, on the 6D Mk ii, I have to hit a "sweet spot" on the shutter release button, that is just past the "half press" point in order for the shutter to keep firing. If I press the shutter button past the "sweet spot", the shutter stops firing, or won't fire at all.  Sometimes, if I press all the way down on the shutter button, and the camera doesn't fire, as I release the button, it fires once, as the button travels through the "sweet spot".  It's quite frustrating.

I am a sports photographer, and have shot with a 7D for many years.  I chose the 6D Mkii to replace an original 5D, because the 6D could shoot at 6.5fps, and had a broader ISO range.  This issue is hampering my ability to get peak action photos during the few games our community is able to hold during this strange sports season.