Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-29-2016

6D does not pair with rMBP

These are the versions of the hardwares and softwares I am using:

 

Canon EOS 6D firmware 1.1.6

latest EOS Utility -> downloaded from canonusa.com and re-installed today

 

MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014)

OSX El Capitan version 10.11.3 (15D21)

Airport Extreme version 7.7.3 (I also tried other two routers. Result is the same)

 

I can always get my 6D connected to my iPhone & iPad (infrastruture mode) without issue. It just does not pair with my Mac.

When I try to pair, the 6D seems doing ok but the Mac is always stuck at this dialogue:

12.jpg

 

At the end, I get this message on the 6D:

 

IMG_0210.jpg

 

Try to "Clear Wi-Fi Settings" on the 6D but it is still the same.

 

Does anyone encounter this issue before?

VIP
Posts: 8,297
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 6D does not pair with rMBP

I have see many complaints about this type of issue.  People can connect to certain phones and tables, but not to a wireless PC type of device.  Although I have never tried to wireless connect, I figured it would be a futile exercise because ....

 

Isn't your wireless PC already connected to something: i.e.: wireless LAN?  Wouldn't it have to break that connection, and reconnect exclusively to just your camera?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-29-2016

Re: 6D does not pair with rMBP

Hi Waddizzle, did you mean ad-hoc connection just between Mac and 6D? I tried and the result was identical.

Yes, both the devices are connected to a wireless LAN.
VIP
Posts: 8,297
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 6D does not pair with rMBP

The phone connects directly to the camera, without the wireless LAN.  Laptops cannot do that.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-29-2016

Re: 6D does not pair with rMBP

Isn't it? By the way, I just tested with my Windows 10 PC via wireless LAN and it works like a charm...

Is there anything to do with El Capitan? I got it working on Mavericks before...
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement