cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6D compared to Mark III

lizzygw
Apprentice

I am a hobbyist photographer currently shooting a Canon 7D and considering an upgrade (currently saving!). Does anyone have recommendations or suggestions of the 6D as compared to the Mark III? (besides the $1300 price difference!) My fear is that if I get the 6D I will "grow out" of it quickly and continue to long for the Mark III. Advantages/disadvantages? Thanks, Elizabeth 

8 REPLIES 8

Skirball
Authority

This subject has been just about beaten to death, so I’m not going to get too much into it.  I highly recommend doing a search, both here, but better yet, at Canon Rumors.com. 

The 6D got a really bad rap from masses of internet armchair critics most of whom never even held one.  The internet is great and all, but these forums are dominated by people that spend far more time looking at specification sheets than using their own camera.

As I’m sure you know, the main difference between the 6D and 5d3 is the autofocus system.   Yes, the 5d3 is far superior, but that doesn’t mean the 6D is not totally adequate.  If you’re a sports photographer then the 5d3 is probably for you.  If you’re worried about the 6d being able to take a picture of your [insert relative] playing [insert sport], then don’t worry.  It’s all internet hype.  It’s perfectly capable of capturing moving subjects.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say: if you have to ask, then you should probably get the 6D.  It’s a great camera at the price. 

I’m sure someone will be along shortly to tell you that if you’re coming from the 7D then the 6D’s autofocus system will absolutely not be adequate for you.  There’s a good chance they’ve never even used a 6D.

Thank you so much for the helpful information. I did a search on the forum but couldn't find this question (perhaps I had inadequate search words). Anyway, I appreciate your time and honesty. 

hsbn
Whiz