cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

6D Mark II Locked on Error 70

Davoud
Enthusiast

After struggling for an hour or so with third-party camera-control software I ended up with an ERR 70 on my 6d Mk II.

The software that I was using is from a reputable developer; it is widely used by astrophotographers and I have been using it for years with various Canon DSLRs without a problem. This is my first attempt to use it with the 6D Mk II. Sometimes it worked, sometimes the software would fail to connect to the camera. It was in the course of troubleshooting this problem that I ended up with  ERR 70.

Possible bugs in the interaction between Mac OS High Sierra and the camera could be at fault.

In any case, I ended up with  ERR 70. Removing the battery for a couple of hours didn't help.Changing lenses didn't help. Reformatting the SD card didn't help. Other ideas most welcome.

Thanks,

David aka Davoud

17 REPLIES 17

@Davoud wrote:

@Ray-uk wrote:

Remove battery, lens and memory card. Close battery and memory card doors.

Turn power switch to ON position, press shutter button and hold for 30 seconds to 1 minute. Turn power switch OFF.

This should clear internal memory and reset to factory conditions.

Refit battery, close door, turn power switch ON.

Thanks for taking time to reply. Sounded good—something I had not tried. Alas, it didn't help. Appreciate it anyway.

David

From what's been said so far, this sounds like the sort of problem that might call for a firmware update. Have you made sure that you're using the latest firmware version? (I'm assuming that a firmware update can be done in C1 or C2 mode, though it's something I've never tried.)

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

I had this same error. In my case this advice worked and the camera came back on but reported a problem with the card. I reformatted it and I'm back in business. Thanks Ray-uk!