cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

60D with a red pixel and some other white pixels

CarlChou
Apprentice

Dear Firends,

When I took some shoots of today's blood moon, found all of the photos shown 1 red pixel and may be 3 other white pixels at different places.

I took more at different speeds and different ISO, all of them have the 1 red pixel and others.

Does it have defect sensor? 

I have been using it for more than 4 years.

Does you have any opinioins?

Thanks a lot!!

7 REPLIES 7

Peter
Authority
Authority
It is normal. Enable long time noise reduction. You can also search on google about "remove hot pixel canon" or use a raw converter with automatic hot pixel remover.

@Peter wrote:
It is normal. Enable long time noise reduction. You can also search on google about "remove hot pixel canon" or use a raw converter with automatic hot pixel remover.

If the problem is noise, then long exposure noise reduction may indeed be the answer.

Hot pixels are another matter. They may have been normal ten years ago, but they're not normal now.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Hot pixels are very normal. You maybe use Lightroom that automatically removes hot pixels? I have hot pixels it in Canon D30, 1000D, 7D and 6D. I use Darktable and RawTherapee so I see the hot pixels before I remove them in the software.

Long exposure noise reduction is a dark frame thingy to remove hot pixels. You can do it manually taking a dark frame after your picture and then substract the hot pixels in GIMP/Photoshop. You maybe are thinking of High ISO noise reduction to remove noise?

[link removed per forum guidelines]

An example

[link removed per forum guidelines]

The two first files without long time noise reduction, and the last one with. Plenty of hot pixels in the first two.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Those are simply guesses without seeing a example.  Can you u/l one here?