cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5d mk III RAW issue

andreicraciun
Contributor

DPP_output_from_RAW.JPGLR5_output_from_RAW.jpg

Hey, i'm experiencing issues with the RAW files. I think there might be a sensor problem because i tested the original file on another computer and it's the same. Attached here, u have the same raw file exported in Digital camera Proffesional and Lightroom 5.

I'm a professional photographer and every now and then, i get this kind of errors. I usually shoot RAW+JPEG low and the weird thing is that the jpg file out of the camera does not contain any errors, only the RAW file does.

I tested everithing, from different batteries, different cards, different lenses, with/without battery grip and that problem still persists. Every 200-300-400 images one raw file is corrupt.

I cannot afford loosing images. Can somebody tell me if this is a random error everybody gets or is it a service issue and i should get my camera checked right away?

Thanks.

28 REPLIES 28

"My suspicion falls on the common component: the Canon RAW component (driver, codec, etc.).  This component is used by Photoshop, Lightroom, and DPP.   Whenever one installs any app that reads Canon RAW files, the Canon RAW component is usually automatically installed. "

Perhaps others know differently and can add to the discussion, but it is my understanding from what I have read over the years that this is not a correct statement.

Lightroom and Photoshop use the Adobe developed Adobe Camera Raw engine, which is not a Canon product, and is not the same decoder as used by DPP or in the Canon SDK that some third party software uses.

If I am correct, and I believe I am, then focusing on software may be detouring you from pursuing the real problem.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

@jrhoffman75 wrote: