Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,288
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

[ Edited ]

@ebiggs1 wrote:

Bob from Boston,

"Never heard of that. Ever!  PS or LR is not causing the problem."

 

This is my educated, opinion, form several decades of using PS and/or LR.


Ah, OK; that explains it. I had thought, from the wording, that you were presenting it as fact.

 

BTW, how many decades is "several"? I see that Wikipedia thinks that Photoshop came out in 1988 and Lightroom in 2007.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,288
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5d 3 underexposure


@kvbarkley wrote:

It could be that LR and PS understand the setting, but Aperture (i.e., the Apple RAW Processor) certainly does not and causes just this kind of behaviour. While the RAW data is readily accesible, the camera settings included have to be reverse engineered, and sometimes they get it wrong. 

 

It is certainly worth a try.


So you're saying that on an Apple computer PS and LR use a 3rd-party (i.e., neither Canon nor Adobe) RAW codec that DPP doesn't need because it understands the Canon RAW format natively? I guess that would let Adobe off the hook, sort of.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,785
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 5d 3 underexposure


@RobertTheFat wrote:

@kvbarkley wrote:

It could be that LR and PS understand the setting, but Aperture (i.e., the Apple RAW Processor) certainly does not and causes just this kind of behaviour. While the RAW data is readily accesible, the camera settings included have to be reverse engineered, and sometimes they get it wrong. 

 

It is certainly worth a try.


So you're saying that on an Apple computer PS and LR use a 3rd-party (i.e., neither Canon nor Adobe) RAW codec that DPP doesn't need because it understands the Canon RAW format natively? I guess that would let Adobe off the hook, sort of.


No, Apple uses its own RAW codec, so it affects Apple Apps like Aperture. Adobe uses Camera Raw on the Mac, too, which I assume is the same as the Windows version. I use the Apple apps, and rarely use Camera Raw. 

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,237
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

[ Edited ]

"BTW, how many decades is "several"? I see that Wikipedia thinks that Photoshop came out in 1988 and Lightroom in 2007."

 

When you are as old as I am, the stone tablets are more difficult to read.  Could be one or could be 10 who knows?

We had PS before it was called Photoshop.  It was only B&W at that time.  It was only Mac.  As I recall about all you could do was change the brightness and contrast.  Some other little things.  I beta tested for Adobe for a couple years.

I don't recall the original name but it was created by two brothers.  Adobe later bought it and changed the name to Photoshop 1.

Since then, in 2005 or so, Adobe changed the name again to Creative Suite 6, or whatever number they are up to now.  I have stopped with CS6.  I don't like the rental software model and I don't see myself needing anything CS6 can not do at this point in my life.

 

I would be stuck if/when I get a 1Dx since CS6 won't read its files. LR is still being updated but CS6 is not.  LR can still open them and let you edit in PS, however.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,237
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

""Never heard of that. Ever!  PS or LR is not causing the problem.""

 This is my educated, opinion, form several decades of using PS and/or LR.

 

I will still strongly repeat, IMHO, it is not PS or LR causing the OP's issue.  If it happens to be, I will be super surprised and I will say 'Holy DSLR, Batman!'.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement