Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-22-2016

5d 3 underexposure

I am having a major problem with my 5d3 in that it is underexposing in Photoshop and Lightroom.  In the Photoshop Raw Filter, shooting raw pics exposure registers at -2.02 underexposed.  The pics are very dark even in a well lit day scene.  I sent the camera to a Canon service center expecting the problem to be corrected.  No change in the pics when it was returned to me.  Using my Canon 30D and my 3Ti, I have no problem in exposure, the pics look perfect straight out of the camera into Photoshop and Lightroom.  A Canon Rep suggested their software so I tried it and the exposure looked perfect.  I am completely befuzzled!  I don't use their free software since I have the best software available.  I have looked into my software for a setting that might fix the problem but have found nothing.  I reset the camera to default after the Rep made the suggestion.  No help there.  If you have a solution, I hope you will post it here.

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,362
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

Read your manual regarding EXPOSURE COMPENSATION.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,786
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

Are JPEG's underexposed?

 

If it is OK in DPP, it is not the camera.

 

Do you highlight tone priority on? That can confuse non-Canon raw processors.

Highlighted
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 809
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

Upload a sample containing full EXIF data.
DCS 3c, DCS 520, D30, D60, 1Ds, 300D, 30D, 1000D IR, 7D, 6D, 6D, M5
15-45/3.5-6.3 IS, 16-35/4 IS, 22/2, 24/1.4 II, 24-105/4 IS, 50/1.4, 85/1.8, 100/2.8, 70-200/2.8 IS II, 300/2.8 IS
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,239
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

[ Edited ]

"Do you highlight tone priority on? That can confuse non-Canon raw processors."

 

Never heard of that. Ever!  PS or LR is not causing the problem.

 

"I have looked into my software for a setting that might fix the problem but have found nothing."

 

Maybe you have a preset that is doing an under exposure in LR?  Turn off all your presets for now and try it.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,289
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5d 3 underexposure


@ebiggs1 wrote:

"Do you highlight tone priority on? That can confuse non-Canon raw processors."

 

Never heard of that. Ever!  PS or LR is not causing the problem.

 

"I have looked into my software for a setting that might fix the problem but have found nothing."

 

Maybe you have a preset that is doing an under exposure in LR?  Turn off all your presets for now and try it.


I have no opinion on whether highlight tone priority could be a contributor. But given that the exposure is correct when the photo is edited in DPP and wrong with PS/LR, how can you possibly say that PS or LR is not causing the problem? The evidence says that something in the RAW image or its Exif data is confusing PS and/or LR but not DPP. What other interpretation makes any sense?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,786
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

It could be that LR and PS understand the setting, but Aperture (i.e., the Apple RAW Processor) certainly does not and causes just this kind of behaviour. While the RAW data is readily accesible, the camera settings included have to be reverse engineered, and sometimes they get it wrong. 

 

It is certainly worth a try.

Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,239
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

Bob from Boston,

"Never heard of that. Ever!  PS or LR is not causing the problem."

 

This is my educated, opinion, form several decades of using PS and/or LR.

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 12,239
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

"It is certainly worth a try."

 

I must say, reluctantly, I do agree with this.  Try everything!

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,786
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 5d 3 underexposure

[ Edited ]

While the 5Ds might be different than my T6S, HTP made no difference in Camera RAW.

 

(This is one of those things that you may as well try before opening your mouth!)

That said, there could also be some other setting in the 5DS that is causing the issue, try to reset the camera to its defaults and try again.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement