cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D Mark iii shoots darker than 550d?

stephenpickerin
Apprentice

Hi all,
I just purchased a srefurbished 5d mark iii from Canon.  I'm upgrading from a T2i (550d) so it's really a whole new animal.

It seems I have to have the iso WAY higher on the 5d than I did on the 550d.  I'm using a nifty-fifty 50mm 1.8 lens.  I'm used to shooting at iso 160 but the 5d is often at 1250 or above.

I'm new to full frame sensors so maybe this is normal (or is just normal for the 5d).  It certainly isn't noisy, but just feels odd that It has to be so high to get a good image.  If photos are helpful I can snap some today, but if this is totally normal then I won't worry about it.

Thanks!

-Stephen

4 REPLIES 4

Skirball
Authority

There were a lot of reports of this when the 5d3 first came out.  I never followed it closely, since I didn't have one,  so I can't give you the details.  But it seems like the issue was solved since I haven't seen anything of it in some time.  I think you'll find plenty of information if you do a search.  You can start with this thread, which has a factory reset solution that worked for some:

http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS/5D-Mark-III-Underexposed-images/td-p/9141

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Exposure is exposure regardless of camera model.  If you were to meter a scene and the meter indicates that you could shoot at ISO 160, a/250th and f/5.6 (I"m making these values up) then you could shoot with those on ANY camera (and this includes film).  ISO is ISO, shutter speed is shutter speed, and aperture is aperutre.