cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D Mark IV - Soft images / Noise

madsthepilot
Apprentice

Hello!  

I just want to first start by saying I'm not a professional but I do have several years of experience shooting Canon. I had an 80D and then I bought a 5D Mark IV this year in July (brand new). It has not been dropped, bumped, or mishandled in any way. 

There seems to be some sort of issue (whether it's something I'm doing or the camera) with the focus. It's annoying me so much to not have razor-sharp-focused images. I do certainly know about shutter and ISO, etc., and how they contribute to the overall quality of the image. That being said, I cannot figure out why my photos are turning out consistently soft/ noisy/ unfocused. 

After purchasing this camera, the photos were focused and clear. I will post an example of this. Now, all of my photos are turning out bad. I will also post a picture of this. 

Please feel free to give any advice/ suggestions. I am not super knowledgeable on the many specific settings within the settings menu, so I may not always be able to answer questions as far as those go. I shoot strictly in manual and am very familiar with all of those settings. Thank you in advance! 

Image 1 

ISO - 1000

70mm

F/4.0

1/2000 sec

20201009-5B1A2578-2.jpg20201107-5B1A5414.jpg

Image 2 

ISO - 1250

70mm

F/4.0

1/2500 sec

As you can see, the second image (which is cropped down a bit to emphasize detail) is not nearly as focused/ clear as the first. 

Thanks again in advance for the help! 

Maddy

3 REPLIES 3

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

How much cropping was done to your second image compared to the first one?  What was your distance from the subject in each?

A 70mm lens at f4 has a depth of field of critical focus between .25 and 4 inches at the distance you likely used for these photos so it is possible only a tiny portion of a 3D subject is in perfect focus.