cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D MK IV exposure issues - HIGH ISO necessary... tried two different lenses

Saraswati0
Apprentice

Hey. I've been shooting with my Canon for a couple of months now. It's already been back to the factory because of a shoddy touch screen. But recently i've noticed with TWO different lenses, some pretty serious issues with exposure and low light shooting.

I shot a yoga class in a studio with three large windows and in order to be at 1/250th f/5.6 I had to up the ISO to nearly 6000 which ended up being really grainy and almost useless. This was with my Sigma 35mm ART lens.

I JUST purchased the Sigma 50mm 1.4 lens and last night I had to shoot an indoor party event. I found myself getting all the was to f/1.4 1/30th and ISO 2500.

These numbers just DONT seem right.... is there something that could be wrong with the body itself? I just don't understand how two lenses could be having the same issues. I'm considering sending the 50mm back since its brand new and getting the Canon 50 1.2 instead... but thats only if the lens is the issue and not the body.

Anyone?

19 REPLIES 19

Ray-uk
Whiz

I think we need more information before anyone can work this out, what mode are you shooting AV,TV, M, Auto, fixed ISO or auto ISO ?

If you suspect one of your lenses then it makes more sense to have them both set to the same aperture and use the same ISO shot in the same lighting conditions, then you can get a sensible comparison.

Have you tried a proper Canon lens, third party lenses are sometimes known to cause problems.

I'm primarily shooting in M mode so everything is manually adjusted including ISO. 

I have a variety of Canon lenses including an L lens that I can try. Tonight i'll test them all in the same lighting situation and see what the results look like and maybe post them here to help the discussion.