Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,881
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

Also, you can dial AEC in Manual with ISO set to Auto on most of the high performance bodies. When you set ISO manually, then AEC may become unavailable.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,881
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

“SO because the camera is setting the shutterspeed automatically the ISO shifts to match it so that the shutter isnt lower than what it wants it to be based off of the focal length.”


You should be able to disable all of that behavior. Make “Safety Shift” is disabled, too.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-29-2019

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

 


@Waddizzle wrote:
“SO because the camera is setting the shutterspeed automatically the ISO shifts to match it so that the shutter isnt lower than what it wants it to be based off of the focal length.”


You should be able to disable all of that behavior. Make “Safety Shift” is disabled, too.

You cant disable it, its on auto by default. The only other option it gives you is to set your own custom minimum shutterspeed.

It defeats the purpose of AV mode imo so realistically you may aswell just use manual mode and not even have the AV mode on the 1dx ii

 

"Safty Shift" was also disabled.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-29-2019

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

Thinking about it now, with what i just wrote i think thats the answer.
To set a custom minimum shutterspeed extremely low that in normal cases it would never reach. But still there should just be an off option, you shouldn't need to have to set a minimum shutterspeed period.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,603
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

Check pg 168 of your manual and see if you didn't inadvertenty dial in a setting. At the "0" poistion the camera selected minimum shutter speed is 1/FL.

 

This is a new adjustment added to the 1D X Mk II.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,881
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

Doesn’t that setting have slider? I notice mine is set for [Auto -3].

But, if am using that much focal length, that usually means I am shooting sports or wildlife. And if I shooting sports then I am using manual mode with ISO set to Auto.

The aperture and shutter stay fixed. I do not have to worry too much about settings. As long as nothing is blinking in the viewfinder, then I am good to shoot. I can put my attention on the shot composition and tracking subjects.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,603
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

It does, and if it was inadvertently shifted to +1 then the 1/500 would become 1/1000.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎05-29-2019

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

[ Edited ]

 


@jrhoffman75 wrote:

Check pg 168 of your manual and see if you didn't inadvertenty dial in a setting. At the "0" poistion the camera selected minimum shutter speed is 1/FL.

 

This is a new adjustment added to the 1D X Mk II.


Here's what happened the other day, I was outside and it was reading 1/1000th at AUTO ISO 3200 in AV mode.

The position of that setting was and has always been set to "0"

So why did it choose 1/1000th at ISO 3200 when it could have picked 1/500th at ISO 1600?

That's what makes me believe even with the setting on "0" it is still picking the shutter speed based off of the focal length?

 

 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,603
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

I’m not following your logic. It sounds like it isn’t setting shutter speed based on focal length. If it was it would select 1/500. 

 

I would suggest resetting camera to factory and clearing all custom settings if this is an important issue to you. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472, LRCC Classic
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,881
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 1DX ii Minimum shutter speed in AV mode

“I have no objection for using auto ISO.  It is just another setting. It is calling it manual mode that is wrong.  It is not "manual mode". That is my objection. I use manual model except.......... Smiley Indifferent

 

 

Take it up with Canon and Webster’s Dictionary.  That is the name of the shooting mode that Canon used.  BTW, if you use an autofocus lens when shooting mode is “Manual”, then I guess that is not “manual shooting”, either.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement