cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why is my T3 taking white photos in Manual exposure mode?

ampitup87
Contributor

I have a Cannon T3 that I have been using a lot for the past 3 years. I was at a huge event to take photos and my camera stopped working in M, AV, TV, and P modes and would only take white photos. All other modes where working just fine. I am aware of adjusting the ISo and that was on auto. My shutter speed was set to 1/30 to take a nice photo of a moving car. My apeture was at F2.8 to make my subject stand out more. My white balance was on AWB. The image setting was on portrait and the auto lighting optimizer was set to strong. I have never had this happen on any other of my previous shots I have used all the settings I have put down on this post. I checked the lens and made sure it was clear of obstructions and the lens itself was clean. It would take perfect photos on creative auto during this time it was taking white photos on the manual modes. Please help this photographer out. I lost some seriuos money over the weekend 😞

15 REPLIES 15

ampitup87
Contributor

P.S. I used a different camera just to see if it was my settings. I used a T4i that my mother in law has and it worked just fine. I just thought to mention that.

I'm betting you overexposed BIG TIME. When shooting in Manual you use the built in light meter reading to set your shutter speed & aperture. You don't just guess what might work, and f2.8 @1/30 sounds about right in VERY poor light. You are right in thinking a slow shutter speed will give the desired efect of showing movement BUT only if you pan smoothly as you shoot the photo.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

https://www.facebook.com/AMPITUPPhotographyInc/photos/a.1576927852560692.1073741834.1567668060153338...