cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why is my T3 taking white photos in Manual exposure mode?

ampitup87
Contributor

I have a Cannon T3 that I have been using a lot for the past 3 years. I was at a huge event to take photos and my camera stopped working in M, AV, TV, and P modes and would only take white photos. All other modes where working just fine. I am aware of adjusting the ISo and that was on auto. My shutter speed was set to 1/30 to take a nice photo of a moving car. My apeture was at F2.8 to make my subject stand out more. My white balance was on AWB. The image setting was on portrait and the auto lighting optimizer was set to strong. I have never had this happen on any other of my previous shots I have used all the settings I have put down on this post. I checked the lens and made sure it was clear of obstructions and the lens itself was clean. It would take perfect photos on creative auto during this time it was taking white photos on the manual modes. Please help this photographer out. I lost some seriuos money over the weekend 😞

15 REPLIES 15

ScottyP
Authority
that really does sound like what you say it looks like; major overexposure. The wide open f/2.8 and the slow 1/30th shutter sound like the correct exposure inside a dim restaurant, not outside in the daytime.

Manual will let you overexpose, but Av would have set you a fast shutter to counterbalance the wide f/2.8 aperture. Or TV would stopped down the aperture to work with that slow shutter.

What shutter did the camera select when you were in Av mode at f/2.8? In my experience that would have the camera giving you a shutter speed more like 1/640th or faster, even with clouds, definitely not 1/30th.

Could you possibly have about 2 or 3 stops of positive exposure compensation dialed in?