cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

why does my camera (EOS REBEL XS) take blurry pictures

plc4d
Apprentice

why does my camera (EOS REBEL XS) TAKE BLURRY PICTURES?

35 REPLIES 35

"I would really appreciate some help on this subject. I'm new to this and I'm finding this Camera to be very frustrating."

On a 300mm lens you need to have a SS that is higher than the reciprocal of 300, or 1/300.  Your camera probably does not have a 1/300 SS so set it to 1/500.  The next higher one.  However, this is the lowest practicable SS you should use.  1/1000 is even better.

Also, if you are using a SL2 you have a crop factor to deal with.  I.E., your 300mm lens appears to act like a 480mm lens does on a FF camera.  The same reciprocal applies. 480mm = 1/480 SS.  Again you don't have a SS of 480 so the next higher, again, is 1/500. And again, even more so in this case, 1/1000 is even a better choice.

Why is this so?  The real reason for this very general rule is "you"!  Most people can not hold a camera steady long enough to get a sharp picture as FL (focal length) increases.  It is why I believe you are getting blurry telephoto shots.  It is called camera motion or motion blur.

If you would post some samples or examples we can tell you for sure if this is the case.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

This shot was with a SS of 1/2000.

_OS11690-Edit.jpg

EB

wow! Your photo is incredible. So I've changed my ss to 1/2000. Aperture is F8.0 ISO is 6400. Do I always need to shoot on M with these settings?

copy.tiff

No, you can use Tv mode and set the speed. The aperture and ISO will adjust to get a good exposure. I am assuming the image was taken *before* you increased the shutter speed, since it clearly (hah!) has motion blur.

Note, too, that the 75-300 is not a very good lens, so don't expect tack sharpness.