cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

walls come out yellow

slaw1962
Apprentice

I have an EOS Rebel SL1. i love the camera. but when i am taking pics at my church the walls come out yellow in the background. the subjects are fine in the pic. it's just the walls. what can i do? i am still learning abt the settings, ie. white balance, f stop, etc. will i just have to "play" with the different settings? where do i need to start witht the setting numbers?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@TTMartin wrote:

@slaw1962 wrote:

I have an EOS Rebel SL1. i love the camera. but when i am taking pics at my church the walls come out yellow in the background. the subjects are fine in the pic. it's just the walls. what can i do? i am still learning abt the settings, ie. white balance, f stop, etc. will i just have to "play" with the different settings? where do i need to start witht the setting numbers?

If you are using your flash to illuminate your subject, it will often be a different color temperature than the interior lights of a building (a church). While shooting RAW allows you to adjust the overall color temperature of the photo, it becomes much more complicated to try and adjust two different sections with two different white balances.

The solution to this is to add a color filter to your flash so it is the same color as the interior lights of your church. Google 'Strobist' for more information on how this is done.

This is it exactly.  Your flash is a bluer white than the indoor lighting in the church. The little flash has only a short range and the power of its light drops off very quickly with distance. The camera's auto white balance knows you are using flash so it selects a color that makes the flash lit subject look good but the background will be off.