cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

shutter release cable?

calilove27
Contributor

hi again Smiley Happy so for those who haven't read any of my threads (i've been posting quite a few lately Smiley LOL) ive recently bought a t3i and i've always been interested in landscape photography, so i was recommened the 10-22mm lens. i should be receiving it soon by the way!

anyway, i've started to gain an interest in night cityscape photography, and i've had no idea about it, but i've been researching and i'm slowly learning. i'm also going to buy a book about understanding exposure, so that should help as well.

i've been so eager in learning night cityscapes because i'm going to las vegas in a few months and it's my first time going. Smiley Very Happy and the actual reason i've started this thread was because i needed opinions on whether or not i should buy the canon remote switch rs60 e3? or should i just save money and just use the self timer?

also, i don't think i'll be bringing my tripod to vegas, so i hope i'll have places to set my camera on when i take the night photos. 

oh and some night cityscape photography tips would be great! hehe Smiley Tongue

3 REPLIES 3

cicopo
Elite

Get a decent table style tripod and a basic shutter release cable. There will be many low cost cables (without additional functions) available thru Ebay.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Ditto on the tripod. And, the little RC-6 remote is a nice cheap little trigger. Make sure it works with a T3i which I believe it does.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

amfoto1
Authority

The main reason for using a remote shutter release is to prevent accidentally bumping and moving the camera during longer exposures (well, I suppose also for times you want to include yourself in the shot). You can accomplish something simlar with the self-timer.