cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

problems with blur

kamiller12
Contributor

Hi,

I am an amateur who wants to take nice photos of families and friends. I've had my Canon Rebel about a year. I have been having issues lately where many of my images are not in sharp focus. It just seems to be hit or miss. I don't remember having this problem as much when I first started taking pictures with my camera.

So, nowadays, all seems well when a review the photos in the viewfinder, on the camera but when I load them onto my computer and reveiw them, I am disappointed as many of them are not in sharp focus. It is frustrating to me and I've lost all confidence that I can reliably take any photos. I mostly use AV mode and use a wide aperture and let the camera choose the shutter speed.

Here is an example of a photo that turned out slightly blurry. What is causing the blur? I am handholding and the shutter speed is fast. I have aimed for someone's eye, probably the older child, press the shutter halfway and recompose... Thanks for any advice anyone might have for me.

1-2016-05-08 11.34.54-1.jpg

19 REPLIES 19

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Don't rely on my opnion, but it looks like the older child's shoes are in good focus, while his face looks soft.  Then again, my glasses could simply be dirty.  If you are using a Rebel, I assume that you probably do not have AFMA in your camera.  Auto Focus Micro Adjustment.

http://www.dofmaster.com/doftable.html

With a wide aperture, you are going to get a narrow depth of field.  Use the calculator at the above link to get an estimate of how much, or how little, depth of field you are getting in your shots.

Many lenses have a soft focus when the aperture is fully opened.  Try stopping it down one or two steps.  Doing so will also give your more depth of field.  Finally, I think your eye has become more experienced at looking at your photos, and is now simply more critical of what it sees.