cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

photo taking

droidus
Contributor

I am trying to take photos with my Canon Rebel XSI Camera.  I am using TV mode.  I am new to using this product.  I noticed that sometimes it will take photos, and sometimes it will not.  Are there requirements that could possibly be set that are not being met so the photos are not being taken?

Thanks.

7 REPLIES 7

Skirball
Authority

Can you give us more details about the situation that you are shooting in?  Are you holding down the shutter or pressing it? The most likely reasons is that it's not finding focus or proper exposure.  Are you shooting in very dark situations or are you very close to your subject?  Try switching the lens to manual focus and see if the problem goes away.

Alternately, you're selecting a shutter speed that doesn't allow the other two variables (aperture and ISO) to find a working combination for proper exposure.  If you were indoors and selected a high speed it won't be able to open the aperture and raise the ISO enough to get exposure.  Is there a reason you're shooting in Tv?  I not I recommend shooting in Av until you figure out what you're doing a bit better.  Av mode has a lot more flexibiity.

Also, check that you don't have it on a timer delay or something silly like that.

Sure - I am shooting mostly outdoor photos where there is plenty of light.  I tried holding down and pressing the shutter button.  It is not on a timed mode.  settings are like so:

1/250

iso: 400

tv

ai focus

Then I'm guessing that you have too much light given those settings.  You've choosen two of the three exposure settings: speed and time, the only thing left is aperture, and it can't select a small enough aperture to limit all the light.  Is the aperture number blinking when you try to take a shot?  Are the images that it is taking overexposed?