cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

newbie SL3 questions

DOUGWOLF
Apprentice

Hello, I am a veteran VFX artist just starting out in shooting video. I have a Canon SL3 and was hoping someone could answer some (I hope) basic questions for me.

1. I have a 50mm lens and an 18-55mm lens and a 55-250mm lens, all Canon. I got a K&F variable ND filter to learn how best to use it in different situations. I found that the filter fits perfectly on the 18-55 and the 55-250, but wont fit on the 50. Am I missing something?

2.  When using the 50 mm lens, indoors for video I have very little problem setting the correct Fstop, white balance, ISO  etc to get the depth of field and look I want. But when I go outside, everythig is blown out white unless I go to the highest F stop, thus negating any DOF I would want. I have run up and down the scales on ISO, Fstop, white balance, etc and nothing seems to work to get and DOF which I can easily get indoors. Again, am I missing something?

Thank so much for any help.

20 REPLIES 20

Yikes; when I wrote "double the frame rate", I was speaking just to the raw number (30) itself.    Double 30 is 60 which led to the 1/60 shutter value.

I guess I should have instead written that a common shutter setting for video is 1 / 2N where N is the frames per second value.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Shutter speed is not a rate. It is a straight number of seconds.

What happens when you get to a 2 second shutter speed?

Why would anyone use a 2 second shutter for video?  Also, in all my examples, shutter is _derived_ from the frame rate (24, 30, 60, etc.)  Not the other way around.  To even get a 2 second shutter, N would need to be 1/2 (half a frame per second).