Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: editing software

I think the referral to Elements was directed to my saying I used it.  I am an amateur astronomer using a 127mm SCT using an alt/azth tracking mount on a tripod for DSOs and planetary photography in an 8'x10' observatory. The cost of CS 6 would be over kill for the quality of the raw data my equipment can deliver. I am also a member of an astronomy club and no one uses CS6, to be fair the members are mostly visual observers and that limits a great deal of need for such an advanced program. I guess, I'm thinking, for me it is a balancing act trying to keep all the aspects of the hobby in prospective and the cost of a CS6 program is just way out of line. I guess I'll just have to accept that being unwilling to buy unneeded bells and whistles based on the data collected is somehow considered politically incorrect by some.

Be Well

Grey

T3 Canon
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-13-2013

Re: editing software

Oh boy am I going to look like a black sheep here... Smiley Wink

 

I just started using Lightroom 4, which I do find incredible for management. I'm still learning the program. However there is one management only program that runs circles around Lightroom. I tried it out, and would have purchased it, if I did not also want the ability to touch up my images. Most "pros" are familiar with Camera Bits' Photo Mechanic.

 

For work outside of Lightroom, I use Corel Paintshop Pro. I've used their products for years, so I'm very familiar with them. I've always found Adobe's products to be cost prohibitive for me. I'm not a professional "fer-tographer" (sorry seen that in a sig and like it), so I have to get and use the most cost-effective, ie; affordable. Since Adobe has now gone to the clouds with it's applications, I don't think I'll be using Photoshop. The whole cloud thing is just a way they can increase the price.

 

 

EOS 70D / EOS Rebel t4i / EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS II / EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 IS II / Sigma 17-50 f2.8/ Canon EF-S 60mm f2.8 macro/ Canon EF 100mm f2.8 macro/ Tamron 70-300mm / 430EX II Speedlite / Canon FS 300
Canon Pixma MG 3100 / Canon LiDE 2100
Adobe Lightroom 4, Canon DPP, Corel Paintshop Pro X4
Forum Elite
Posts: 14,137
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: editing software

"... somehow considered politically incorrect by some."

 

Not at all. Unless I am not PC either because I own Elements 2, 7, 8 and 10.

You are certainly not limited to only Photo Shop for more advance editing if the need arises for you.

Adobe has gone off the deep end with their insistence of cloud subscription. But Light Room 5 is a great program. Still available for purchase out right. Full version is $149 bucks. Just a little more than what Elements 11 is.

A more feature filled, “FREE”, software is GimpShop. http://www.gimpshop.com/

 

Here is a blog from our best photographer. He is published in many astronomy magazines such as Sky. Maybe you would like to check him out. He will also be willing to answer any photo questions you may have. http://tomjmartinez.blogspot.com/

Here is the observatory. http://kansastravel.org/powellobservatory.htm

 

Keep looking up!

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Highlighted
Forum Elite
Posts: 14,137
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: editing software

I just started using Lightroom 4, which I do find incredible ...”

 

Did you know Light Room 5 is available? It has a couple advanced features you may like. One is the enhancements to the Spot Removal tool that allows you to heal or clone using brush strokes.

 

Automatically level horizons, straighten buildings, and correct other askew lines.

 

Apply any of Lightroom’s local adjustment attributes to a circular mask.

 

Plus s some bug fixes for more stability.

 

The upgrade cost is $79 bucks but if you 'just' bought LR 4, Adobe may let you have LR 5 for no charge.

 

 

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-13-2013

Re: editing software

[ Edited ]

Just my luck, I just purchased LR4 about a month ago. LR5 hadn't been released yet, was still in beta. I'll have to look into getting LR5.

 

EDITED:

I submitted a request to Adobe for the free upgrade. I also noticed that the system requirements do not include Vista, which is what I'm currently running. I'll see if it runs ok, if not I can go with LR4 until such time I can upgrade my PC.

EOS 70D / EOS Rebel t4i / EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 IS II / EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 IS II / Sigma 17-50 f2.8/ Canon EF-S 60mm f2.8 macro/ Canon EF 100mm f2.8 macro/ Tamron 70-300mm / 430EX II Speedlite / Canon FS 300
Canon Pixma MG 3100 / Canon LiDE 2100
Adobe Lightroom 4, Canon DPP, Corel Paintshop Pro X4
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: editing software


@ebiggs1 wrote:

You can certainly ascertain the level of a person by a few moments conversation.


I couldn't agree more Biggsy, couldn't agree more...

Forum Elite
Posts: 14,137
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: editing software

"... the system requirements do not include Vista ..."

 

LR5 would probably run on it but it would be so sloooowwww, you wouldn't like it. LR4 will be slow on a Vista machine but painfully usuable. Make sure you max out the RAM to 4 GB. However, single apps can only access 2 GB at a time.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Forum Elite
Posts: 14,137
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: editing software

"I couldn't agree more Biggsy, couldn't agree more..."

 

A starting point.Smiley Very Happy

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: editing software


@ronpete wrote:

Just my luck, I just purchased LR4 about a month ago. LR5 hadn't been released yet, was still in beta. I'll have to look into getting LR5.

 

EDITED:

I submitted a request to Adobe for the free upgrade. I also noticed that the system requirements do not include Vista, which is what I'm currently running. I'll see if it runs ok, if not I can go with LR4 until such time I can upgrade my PC.


If you can get the upgrade, then that's great.  I certainly know the frustration of buying something only to see an upgrade come out right afterwards.

 

That said, and I know I’m going against the *ahem* outspoken here, but don’t feel you have to upgrade just because a new one came out.  There are two main differences with LR5 (that are important to me anyway).  There is a straightening tool they call ‘upright’, which is imperative for Architectural and Real Estate work, but most won’t miss it in other types of photography.  The other is they changed the spot tool to a brush, which in my opinion is long overdue.  That stupid spot tool is obnoxious. 

 

I used the Beta of LR5 and it’s nice, but I didn’t run out and upgrade when they released earlier this week, and here’s why:  I have a program called DxO which does everything upright does and it runs inside of Lightroom.  As for the spot brush, I don’t use it in LR4 unless it’s truly just a spot.  Anything bigger I just push to Photoshop and fix it there.  Would I prefer to be able to do these as part of the base LR program?  Sure, but it’s not worth $100 to me to upgrade.

Forum Elite
Posts: 14,137
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: editing software

The Spot Healing Brush is better in LR5 but is still not where it should be. It leaves a lot to be desired. Another upgrade to LR5 is supposed to be 'bug' fixes. We'll see?

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement