cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

constructive criticism wanted!

sxesrt
Apprentice
just wanted to see what you guys think of the quality of my new t3is video. I'm brand new to video/photography altogether and just wanted input on the quality/color composition. took me a while to edit the video to my desired liking but think I nailed the look im going to be going for color grading wise.

try to look past the shakiness too. 😛
getting a monopod shortly!

constructive criticism is greatly appreciated!

http://vimeo.com/m/69939377
2 REPLIES 2

fyigmo63
Enthusiast

One constructive criticism/suggestion would be if you're intent on shooting video I'd recommend buying a tripod with a fluid head (or if you already own a good tripod...like a Manfrotto...buy a fluid head for it.  For shooting video, you won't regret it.

As for the video itself, the colors are a bit washed out.  I'd utilize whatever video editing tool you have to reduce that effect and bring out the colors better.  Subject of the girls at breakfast is always a winner, they're in a natural state and cute just chomping away.

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Conceptually I like what you've done.  I like your framing and your use of selective focus.  You're get a look that you normally wouldn't get with a camcorder.

Comments:

- I'm not a big fan of the faded look -- I see that as over-used these days so I don't think of it as being a unique "look".  The exception is when I see it used specifically in nostalgic settings (e.g. scenes which don't contain any modern subjects to spoil the idea that this might really be old film.)