cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

canon t5i, 50mm f1.4 or 85mm f1.8??

kaylacanon89
Contributor
Hey guys im new to DSLRs. I recently bought my Canon Rebel t5i with the 18-135mm lens. Now i wanna upgrade a bit to take photos of family etc. I dont of to buy the 50mm f1.4 or the 85mm 1.8 please help.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

I think you'll like them both... a 29mm focal length provides a "normal" angle of view (neither wide nor tele)... so both are slightly in the tele category.  The 85mm will be narrower to the point that you'll need to step back farther to frame a shot and for indoor use it may be narrower than you want.  Both provide a very nice quality to the background blur.

An 85mm will provide stronger blur at the same f-stop... but the 50mm will be a bit more versatile for indoor use (since you don't have to walk back quite as far to frame up the shot.)

You can go to pixelpeeper.com to pull up sample images (they index Flickr images as long as the image had the camera & lens EXIF data in it). 

You could also rent them to see which one you prefer.

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

I think you'll like them both... a 29mm focal length provides a "normal" angle of view (neither wide nor tele)... so both are slightly in the tele category.  The 85mm will be narrower to the point that you'll need to step back farther to frame a shot and for indoor use it may be narrower than you want.  Both provide a very nice quality to the background blur.

An 85mm will provide stronger blur at the same f-stop... but the 50mm will be a bit more versatile for indoor use (since you don't have to walk back quite as far to frame up the shot.)

You can go to pixelpeeper.com to pull up sample images (they index Flickr images as long as the image had the camera & lens EXIF data in it). 

You could also rent them to see which one you prefer.

Tim Campbell