cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wide angle DOESN'T look wide. Why????

photogrrrl8
Apprentice

I have a Rebel Xti.  I attached a Zeikos 0.45x Wide Angle Lens (58mm) to the factory lens (0.52mm) on my camera.  But when I look through the viewfinder, the view in NOT wide.  Nothing looks different compared to when the wide angle lens was off.  I've tried different modes and aperatures but I have no idea what's going on.  I'm a newbie so some step-by-step instruction would be greatly appreciated.  It can't be this hard!  Thanks very much 🙂

13 REPLIES 13

wq9nsc
Authority
Authority

These types of lens converters just screw on where a filter would normally fit in the front of your lens so as long as the converter you bought fits the filter threads of your lens it just screws in place and it sounds like you have done this part.

The change in wide angle coverage should certainly be noticeable but it may not be as dramatic as you expected.  Look at an area through the bare lens and notes what shows up at the very border of the image.  Without changing your distance to the subject or the zoom level of the lens, attach the converter and check what is at the edges.  Unless the seller sent you a plain glass converter, you should see a difference in what was covered.

The downside, and more so with the lower cost converters, is there is going to be a loss of image quality and it is often very significant.  These type of wide angle converters work better for video use where people tend to be less fixated on quality.  If you are trying to end up with a wider angle lens with high image quality, you are ultimately going to have to pay the price for a wide angle lens.  Even a very expensive Canon prime lens with their expensive teleconverters suffers a loss in quality over the bare lens and the drop in quality is far more drastic with lower priced lenses and very low cost converters.

Rodger