cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are the highlights always blown out on every picture I take with my Rebel T1i?

ks4greenthumb
Contributor

Hello, my name is Kevin and I am new to photography and to this forum. I fell in love with photography this year ( 2014 ) when my Dad gave me his old Rebel XT. I used it for 6 months and had no problems with it at all. However, when I saw a good deal for a Rebel T1i on EBay, I bought it. Ever since I started using the T1i every picture I take that has any highlights is pretty much completely blown out, at least the bright areas are blown out. I've tried every setting on the camera to help prevent this to no availe. I can take a picture of the trees with a stormy overcast sky and with the XT I'll get a good exposure but with the T1i the sky will be totally blown out. I turned the HTP on and off, I turned ALO on and off, I've tried every possible combination of features on and off but it still seems to be over exposing the highlights. And it's only the highlights. I can use exposure compensation to darken the over exposed highlights but that totally removes any shadow detail. I'm starting to think that something may be wrong with the camera, like with the metering system or something. Does anyone have any thoughts on the matter, I sure would appreciate some help here !!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Dukai wrote:
Hi,
A bit late but I am having the exact same issue with the Canon 80d. I bought the camera a few month ago, coming from a 600d (t3i) that got stolen. I am more and more convinced there must be an issue with the metering or sensor of some sort that's constantly blowing out the high lights on pictures where it shouldn't (I think)... At least I'm pretty sure my old 600d did a better job regarding dynamic range and I find it weird.