cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are my images 5mp and under all of the sudden?!

meganb
Contributor

I am very new to canon and somewhat to photography but I just had a shoot and now as Im editing I noticed the quality is off and then that ALL of my images are 5mp and under! =( I reset everything and they are still shooting super small. I usually have 9-14mp after editing, these people are not going to be able to print these large at all now. Very bummed =( Thank you for your help!

18 REPLIES 18

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Can you please tell us which Rebel model you own -- that'll help.

As a generaization, you can change both the size and the quality of the images your camera takes.

If you shoot JPEG there are several choices.  You'll notice the the quality options include choices with a L, M, or S (these represent Large, Medium, and Small image sizes respectively) and ALSO... you'll notice that next to the letter is a curved corner of a circle -- the rounded edge is either nicely rounded OR jagged (like a staircase).  The nicely rounded curve means the camera will use high quality (minimum JPEG compression) and the jagged (staircased) edge means the camera will use lower quality (high JPEG compression for smaller file sizes).  

I'm going to guess that you've either reduced the JPEG quality by asking for higher compression (which results in smaller files) and/or also asked the camera to create smaller resolution images.