cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What the hell happened to my (video) footage?

JBH
Apprentice

I just started shooting with this t3i Canon Camera...

I was on the second and most extensive day of shooting for a client.

I finally got to my work station to ingest the (video) footage I shot only to discover that the only footage on the SD card was the footage from the day before.

This is not only extremely strange but very alarming, considering I reviewed (played back) some footage I shot today in the camera on location.

I have no clue what or even why this would happen.

Is my footage still somewhere on this SD Card?  Can it be recovered?  What the hell is going on!?

Anyone have an explanation?  This makes ZERO sense considering I didn't do anything different than when I shot all my other footage..

2 REPLIES 2

JBH
Apprentice

Here's an update

Called Canon and they (just as I suspected they would) denied all responsibility and pointed fingers to the SD Card.  Which is a Sandisk Extreme 32gb which, IS one of Canon's preferred venders and products.

I downloaded for free. 'Stellar phoenix photo (& video) recovery' (for mac) just to scan the card and see what it sees.  It turns out that there is a lot of video files on the card my mac and t3i can NOT see (access).   Unfortunately the 'preview' option did NOT work so, I can only assume the video footage I seek is what I am seeing in the 'Seller' file folder.  They want to charge $30 + to recover it.  Not bad but, free is better.