cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What lens to buy for my EOS 1300D?

Robin4321
Contributor

Hi everyone,

I'm making my own researches but I'm still new at photography and I want to make sure I don't miss things to choose my new lens. My budget for this lens is about 400€ ($550-600).

I'm thinking of buying a Canon EF 50 mm f/1.4 USM lens as I would like a lens to replace my EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 III.

I would like to do landscape/street/portrayal pictures with it (and even a bit of macro if possible).
Do you think it's a good choice? Is my EOS 1300D good enough for that lens?

29 REPLIES 29

Be nice, gentlemen! 

B from B,

"Says the man who has repeatedly claimed that all good pictures are the result of good post-processing."

Touché, Robert.  Ya got me on that point.  My statement needs more clarity slider I believe.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA

My favorite saying for the class was, "Photography is half camera/lens, half you  and half post editing.  Not necessarily in that order.

Smiley Very Happy

EB

@ebiggs1 wrote:

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA

My favorite saying for the class was, "Photography is half camera/lens, half you  and half post editing.  Not necessarily in that order.

Smiley Very Happy

I guess that's reasonably accurate.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Thanx !

EB

@Robin4321 wrote:

ebiggs1 -> "The truth is a 50mm lens is a limited use lens on a Rebel."

What's a "Rebel"?

Waddizle -> "The package that I posted includes the EF 50m f/1.8 STM lens, plus an ultra wide angle,, 10-18mm, for landscapes."

I know but the lens for the landscape is only f/4.5-5.6 and the problem I had with the pictures of landscapes with my EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 III seemed to be partly coming from the low aperture opening. What do you think?

I'm not Ernie or Waddizzle, but I may be the first one up this morning, and I think I know the answers.