cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What lens to buy for my EOS 1300D?

Robin4321
Contributor

Hi everyone,

I'm making my own researches but I'm still new at photography and I want to make sure I don't miss things to choose my new lens. My budget for this lens is about 400€ ($550-600).

I'm thinking of buying a Canon EF 50 mm f/1.4 USM lens as I would like a lens to replace my EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 III.

I would like to do landscape/street/portrayal pictures with it (and even a bit of macro if possible).
Do you think it's a good choice? Is my EOS 1300D good enough for that lens?

29 REPLIES 29

ebiggs1 -> "The truth is a 50mm lens is a limited use lens on a Rebel."

What's a "Rebel"?

Waddizle -> "The package that I posted includes the EF 50m f/1.8 STM lens, plus an ultra wide angle,, 10-18mm, for landscapes."

I know but the lens for the landscape is only f/4.5-5.6 and the problem I had with the pictures of landscapes with my EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 III seemed to be partly coming from the low aperture opening. What do you think?

@Robin4321 wrote:

I know but the lens for the landscape is only f/4.5-5.6 and the problem I had with the pictures of landscapes with my EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 III seemed to be partly coming from the low aperture opening. What do you think?

For landscapes you'll want a large depth of field, so you'll want to stop that lens down to f/8 anyway. That lens has very good image for an ultra-wide angle lens.

TTMartin -> "For landscapes you'll want a large depth of field, so you'll want to stop that lens down to f/8 anyway."

That's actually something I didn't think about, maybe I got some blurness because of the aperture that was too wide? (if I keep it like 5 or 6 something it can get blur?)

RobertTheFat -> Thanks for the explanation 😄

Waddizzle -> "Excellent suggestion, but the OP lives in France, I think she said."