cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Waterproofing Option for Canon T7i?

Sorsor_7
Apprentice

Hello everybody, I'm a new DSLR photographer and I love taking storm photography. I got the Canon EOS Rebel T7i and I'm not sure how to take it out safely in the storms. All the waterproofing houses I see are in th $1500 range which is not possible within my budget, plus I've heard they are tough because not one size fits all. I've seen plenty of rain jackets or coats and even people saying to cut a hole in a Ziploc bag. My concern is that these are inadaquate for keeping enough water out. I've even seen it where people completely expose the lens, is this ok? Isn't the lens susceptable to damage itself?

Thanks,

-Soren.

4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

There is no such thing as waterproofing your camera without using a custom fit ienclosure.  Your camera body is not well sealed against moisture and dust as other models that sell for just a bit more.  

I would advise against giving it a go in a torrential downpour, no matter how many layers of plastic you use.  Besides, you also need to worry about “waterproofing” the lens you would be using.  

I advise against attempting that without sealed gear, and “sealed” does not mean “proofed”.  It means there are gaskets in place within the seams of the shell, which your camera does not have.  

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

The Rebel line don't get weather sealing treatment.  The mid-range and above bodies (e.g. 80D or above such as a 7D, 5D, or 1D series body) do get weather sealing treatment.  Weather sealing typically means o-rings on the dials and gaskets on body seams or buttons.  This keeps casual water from getting into the body but they are NOT "waterproof".   The degree of weather sealing varies by camera model (they don't all get the same treatment.)