cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Videoing dance recital with rebel t3i

Deniserbowman
Apprentice
Help! I've been video recording during dance rehearsals with my rebel t3i and at times the video is grainy and blurry. What is the optimal video settings for recording low lights except the dancer who is moving. I am fairly close in video proximity. It's a small dance studio. I am a novice to utilizing my camera for videoing.
3 REPLIES 3

Deniserbowman
Apprentice
I am using the stock 18-55mm Lens

Low light conditions are tough. I use P mode and Auto ISO. If you can't get better lighting you will get grain (digital noise).

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

@jrhoffman75 wrote:

Low light conditions are tough. I use P mode and Auto ISO. If you can't get better lighting you will get grain (digital noise).

Yes, low light conditions are tough.  One way around it is to use a faster lens, one with a smaller f/stop number.  I would also assume that you're using the standard zoom, kit lens at the shorter focal lengths.  If not, you should.  And, a well leveled head on a leveled tripod would make your results look better, too.  I would suggest a fast, wide angle lens, but not too wide, though.

Depending upon your budget [with a T3i] I would recommend several, starting with the Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM, which is made specifically for a EF-S mount cameras like your Rebel T3i.  There is also the 16mm f/2.0 ED AS UMC CS Lens for Canon EF-S Mount from Rokinon, or its' Bower cousin with the same model number, as a good manually operated lens, which is also made for the EF-S mount camera bodies.