cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Video Noise with the T7

steveviscious
Apprentice

I'm pretty new to videography so I hope no one flames me to death for looking for answers here.

I got the T7 for streaming(on twitch)....yeah I know it's not really meant for that...but I did it anyway because I can work around the white focus box that doesn't go away and I didn't want to spend THAT much money when I'm not even sure what I'm doing yet. 

I'm using the video dial setting and to my knowledge, noise doesn't necessarily come from using higher ISO, but higher ISO just shows the noise that it present. Well I've seen videos of people talking about shutter speed and aperture and how that can cause noise as well. So I've fiddled with all those settings and still pretty much get noise no matter what I do. I've set it to 720p so can I get the higher framerate. I also am aware that a lack of light can cause problems, but I guess I'm a little confused on what is considered a 'low light' situation. Obviously I'm not outside, and there are no windows near the shot, but I've got two reflective umbrellas and two soft boxes right on me. Certainly that has to be enough. 

It's just kind a bewildering to me because I see other streamers with cameras that have similar or same video capability and yet they've got a squeaky clean picture. Most of them are using a Panasonic G7 or one of the Sony models though.

So I guess the bottom line is I need to figure out if the problem is me or the camera. I'm inclined to think it's me.

Edit: I'm using the HDMI out to a capture device. The EOS webcam utility gives too low resolution, and honestly the quality is bad too.

4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Yes, you are correct.  The camera is not designed to do what you're trying to do.  You can get rid of the white focus box by switching the lens to MF mode.