cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very Delayed Shots Even on All Auto

thisiswater
Contributor

I am in a low light setting with my T5 on auto and a standard 18-55mm lens.

When I focus on my subect, regardless of distance, the lens becomes very active struggling to focus and the flash *finally* pops up and takes the picture.

I tried disabling the flash as I've seen great effects in low light no flash with this model. The lens still struggled focus/unfocus over and over again.

This is a new camera for me and I want it to work! What am I doing wrong. 

8 REPLIES 8

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

Sounds like light level is too low. You can enable flash assist to help focusing. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

I saw a demo of this camera shooting a face illuminated only by candleight while set on auto. Is that not possible? 

Since I'm just beginning I want to shoot on auto-everything until I get a feel for the camera.

Also, how do I go to menu and "make sure all settings are default?" as the manual instructs for beginning use? I don't know what the default settings are ...

I hope this makes sense!

Many thanks!

http://www.forums.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS-Rebel/Resetting-my-EOS-Rebel-T5/td-p/129099

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

Thanks for this John:

To reset your camera to the defaults:

Press MENU.
Select the [Tools #3] tab.
Select [Clear Settings].
Select [Clear All Camera Settings].
Select [Ok] to confirm.

However, MY camera (T5) does not have a "Clear Settings" option under any tab. Sigh.

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend
Switch into Program "P" mode.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend
Does your camera work OK outside?

If you are using a kit zoom it's not going to have great low light performance.

You can get a 50mm STM lens for about $150 and it will be a great low light portrait lens.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH