cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unclear and Crisp Pictures- help please

Kbrown
Apprentice

Hi, I am fairly new to taking photos.  Although I have taken "unprofessional" pictures for years. (Pointed my camera at a target and snapped pictures...Rathery grainy)  In 2015 I purchases a Canon Rebel t5i with two different lens as a bundle. My son plays baseball and my husband rodeos in the spare time..regardless everything we participate in, is a family event. When I first got my camera it took AMAZING pictures (of course I never adjusted any modes, shutter speeds, ISO anything... well I started to try and "play" with those things and I am afraid I have selected something Somewhere within that is making my photos less sharp and crisp.  Please help... my son is having a baseball tournament this coming weekend and I would like to get those WOW shots! 

Mode I am using right now-  TV Mode, ISO 400, 1/1000 

Thank you for your advice/help in advice.

Kbrown

11 REPLIES 11

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

For this weekend, just set the sports mode and see how it works. I also suggest setting the center focus point. Do you, by any chance, have the lens set to manual focus?

Hi thank you I usually shoot in sports mode and just recently changed it to the above. No the lens is set to AF. Like I said when I first got it before I starting "adjusting" stuff it gave clear crisp pictures.

If you live in Southern California, you might want to check this out:

https://learn.usa.canon.com/events_calendar/event_details/cll_events/oc/20170601_oc_gssports.shtml

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

If you are not sure what settings are in place go to the Menu and select Clear Settings:

Capture.JPG

The camera has a Sports mode (running man icon), but you can get better results if you select your own settings.

Select Tv with a shutter speed of 1/500 or 1/1000, depending on the amount of action/motion.and Auto ISO