cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thinking of upgrading T2i...

TeacherByDay
Apprentice

I'm an amateur photographer, photographing primarily newborns, children and families. I currently use a T2i, the kit lens it came with and a 50 prime. I'm a little unsure of what my next camera body should be to take my photography to the next level. What might you suggest given the subject of my images? Thanks for your help!

5 REPLIES 5

ScottyP
Authority
I think you need lenses more than a new body. For reasons below I think the lenses should be EF Lenses, not EFS lenses so they will work on full frame later.

The only thing you would gain with another crop body would be complex autofocus for sports and fast motion, or a rugged metal waterproof body or better movie making with dual pixel AF. . The basic image quality of the crop sensors for stills has not changed a lot since the T2i.

Since none of your subjects are sports or race cars, you are not shooting in extreme rough conditions and you are not primarily doing movies, I think when you get a body a good choice would be a full frame like 6d. That will give you better indoor and dim light shooting in existing light.
Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

Thanks, Scott. I really appreciate the response. I've been keen on the 6D for a while, and think that might be the jump I make, but you make a great point about the better lenses. 

I will disagree with Scott's suggestion just a little.  A new Rebel T5i or the newer T6i is going to be a lot better in features than your T2i.  The sensor may not be all that better but the rest of the system will be.  What you have in lenses will work without notice.