cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T8i settings for real estate

Spolino84
Apprentice
Hello. I am new to this camera and photography in general. I’m practicing and plan on getting into real estate photography. What settings should I be using for the best possible pictures?

Thanks

Scott
13 REPLIES 13

Tronhard
Elite
Elite
I strongly recommend that you obtain and read a copy of Lighting Interiors, a book on real estate photography by Scott Hargis, an expert in real estate photography. He shoots Canon, so you will see him refer to gear that may be appropriate. While a lot is about lighting technique, which is a major component of successful real estate photography, he also reviews the gear he uses.

One of the major aspects of real estate photography is to get wide angle shots, sadly a crop sensor body has challenges with using wide angle lenses. If you want to understand this look at this article:
https://www.dpreview.com/articles/2666934640/what-is-equivalence-and-why-should-i-care

cheers, TREVOR

"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Spolino84
Apprentice
Thank you. I got the canon 10-18mm lens. Some of the issue I’m having is when I take a picture, the photo will look nice and clear on my screen. But when I load it onto my computer, there is much more grain than I’d like.

With the 10-18 lens, the widest possible aperture is f/4.5.  But if at the 18 end, it's f/5.6.

Do you have a tripod? If so, do some longer exposures.  e.g. if you shot say at 1/60s at ISO 3200, you could drop that to ISO 100 and use 1/2 second.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

Spolino84
Apprentice
I do have a tripod. I used the settings you posted. I will update you when I have time to load them on my computer!