cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T7i spot focus

MikeinAsheville
Apprentice

I'm new to DSLRs, so I'll ask stupid questions.  Here's my first one.  

I want to have my camera start up in spot focus mode.  Can I set it as default?  Our backyard bears are so black that the default focus has trouble settling on the bear and not the foliage.

Thanks.

9 REPLIES 9

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Do you know how to set Spot Focus in the T7i?  You need to be in one of the "Creative Zone" shooting modes.  These are P, Tv, Av, and M settings on the top dial.  

Setting up and using Spot Focus effectively is not exactly straightforward.  If you do not have a copy of the full User Guide for the camera, then I suggest that you revisit the Canon Support page for your camera, which is where you downloaded any software for the camera.

People who set up Spot AF will usually set up Spot Metering, too.  Also, many users do not realize that Spot AF only works with the Center AF port, and ditto for Spot Metering.  Spot Metering only works at the Center AF point.  Many users do not consider the fact that the actual size and location of the AF point may not be exactly the same size and location as the AF square that they see in the viewfinder.

Finally, if the bears are so distant that appear so small in the viewfinder that only one AF point can cover them, then they are probably too far away to captrure a sharp image, and Spot AF mode may only make matters worse.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Thanks for the reply.  I didn't have time to make changes in auto focus, and you'll notice that the nose is out a little. If I could have turned the camera on in spot focus, I think it would have been better  About 20 ft with kit 18-55Bears15.JPG