cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T5i vs. 60D? Need advices

bigtiger2004
Apprentice

Dear Forum Members,

I am a photography veteran and bought my first Digital Rebel over 10 years. However, in the past few years, I was distracted to focus on other life events and gradually lost contract with the evolution in camera technologies.

Now I am back to this world and need a new camera. Since the Bacl Friday shopping window is short, I don't have enough time to dig out all the facts and compare T5i with 60D. So could someone do me a favor and give a few suggestions on the pros and cons of each camera? 

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7

Skirball
Authority

Here’s a comparison of the specs:

http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon-Rebel-T5i-vs-Canon_EOS_60D

That’ll give you an idea of the main differences.  In general the Canon XXD line is a midclass level crop sensor, compared to the entry class XXXD line (Rebel line, like the T5i, aka 700D).  The XXD camera body is more robust with better sealing (and bulkier), better viewfinder, and usually has some advanced features that the Rebel line doesn’t have.  But just because it’s an “advanced feature” doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll use it.   Many people love the XXD line, others are perfectly happy with the XXXD; only you can decide.  A decision like this is based off of features, the image quality and high ISO performance of these two cameras are pretty much the same.

There are a few factors that Snapsort misses because they look at certain common features and only compare those.

The 60D, being a mid-level body, has a 2nd monochrome LCD screen on the top of the camera which normally displays camera settings, and can also adds some instant-access buttons near the top LCD for quicker access to settings that require either menu navigation or pressing multiple button combinations to access on the T5i.