cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T5i "Nifty 50"

revkab
Apprentice

I am a rank amateur.

I just got a new T5i, with an 18-55mm EF-S lens.  Several folks here swear that I ought to add a 50mm 1.5 or 1.8 to my camera bag. 

Question 1:  What will I be able to do different with this lens?

Question 2: Is there a difference between an "EF" lens and an "EF-S" lens when I am considering the 55mm?

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Several folks here swear that I ought to add a 50mm 1.5 or 1.8 to my camera bag. 
Question 1:  What will I be able to do different with this lens?

Question 2: Is there a difference between an "EF" lens and an "EF-S" lens when I am considering the 55mm?

Taken in order asked:

The Canon 50mm comes in three variations. The f1.8, f1.4, and a very expensive f1.2.

For your situation the f1.8 is probably what you need. It is not in the same class as the better, and the one I really recommend f1.4. The f1.2 is a full on 'pro' version and pretty pricey.Smiley Surprised

1. The main benefit is it is way faster glass than you kit lens is. That means it can operate better in low light situations. It is a prime lens and will also produce sharper images.  You can use higher shutter speeds for action stopping, etc. It's f-ratio is fixed.  It is not a zoom. Something I like to call a "two foot" zoom!

2. EF lenses will fit your camera and all other current Canon cameras. EF-s lenses, on the other hand, will fit only Rebel cameras like your T5i.

It has to do with the "short focus" design (hence the 's') of the lens. Which basically means the lens can be produced cheaper.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

BTW, I love Rebels!Smiley Very Happy

I have had five of them over the years. Your T5i is a very capable camera something we call an advanced amateur or enthusiasts camera. When it is coupled with quality glass, it can produce stunningly outstanding photos.