cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T5i View Finder Meter

sisabell
Contributor

Hello, new here and new to Canon. Recently purchased a used T5i with 18-55 kit lens. I am new to DSLR cameras but learning. Realized I'm having an issue and wanted to make sure I'm not being dumb. 

In live view, I can take photos in any mode and the exposure meter seems to work as designed. With live view off and trying to take photos through view finder the camera meter things everything is WAY under exposed. if you adjust enough to bring the meter up to even -2 the picture is terrible and blown out. 

With the camera in auto mode inside a well lit room it tries to take pictures with a 20-30 second shutter. 

Just curious if anyone else has every ran into this and what the remedy was...

Thanks for any help

21 REPLIES 21

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend

LiveView reads exposure directly via the sensor. When using the optical viewfinder you are using a different metering system.

First thing to do is reset camera to factory settings following steps 1 and 2 below:

Annotation 2019-12-11 053329.jpg

Then let us know what is happening.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

sisabell
Contributor
Hi thanks for the reply.
I have reset the camera several times to make sure it wasn’t a goofy setting.

And I do understand that they use different metering systems, that’s my concern actually, that the meter in the camera that works with the view finder is damaged in some way or another.

jrhoffman75
Legend
Legend
Since you reset the camera and have that problem you should contact the seller.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X Mark III, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, Pixma TR8620a, LR Classic

What mode are you in?

Try it in green square outside on a sunny day.

sisabell
Contributor