cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T5i 3X to 10X digital zoom

nikki
Contributor

I recently purchased the Rebel T4i.  In reviewing the specs for the T5i, I notice that it is going to have the 3X to 10X digital zoom that the T4i does not.  As I am new to the dslr industry, can you explain to me exactly what this means?  Should I exchange the T4i for the T5i?  Thank you.

8 REPLIES 8

cicopo
Elite

I haven't read very much on the T5i but digital zoom is not (as far as I'm concerned) something to shop for when buying a quality camera. Optical zoom is done through lens magnification, but digital zoom is just zooming in on the pixels just like you do on your computer. The further in you zoom in the lower the quality of the image. It works OK on screen but not in prints.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

Skirball
Authority

Personally, I'd turn off the digital zoom.  Digital zoom is no different than opening up a photo in photoshop (or any photo software) and cropping down to a small picture (thus "magnifying" your image).  You're just tossing out all those other pixels.  All that money that you spent on have a bigger sensor with an SLR gets tossed out. If you want more zoom, buy a longer lens.  Swapping out the proper lens for the job is half the point of an SLR.