Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-26-2013

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

I am on vacation - first day of vacation - and my Canon Rebel T4i froze completely. None of the buttons respond and when I connect the camera to my laptop, the camera is not recognized.

 

I tried taking out the card and battery and restarting it. Nothing works.

 

Please help!

 

I called the support line and they are closed on the weekends.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-26-2013

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

[ Edited ]

Downloading a software update doesn't help when my camera is not responding to anything.

 

Please help!

 

[Moderator Note:  Removed email address per forum guidelines]

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-09-2013

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

I guess I was fortunate as removing the battery and re-installing fixed it for me.  One other possibility may be to remove the lense and then remove the batter and re-install it again.  I had noticed earlier that my red light flashes on me with lense changes.  Probably not related but worth a try since removing the battery didn't work by itself.

Highlighted
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

I would recommend updating your firmware, see below.

http://usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer?pageKeyCode=prdAdvDetail&docId=0901e0248090cddd

"Cameras don't take pictures, photographers do."
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-21-2014

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

I'm having a similar problem. Try switching OFF and ON quickly, but dont so quickly. Turn it off and before the screen turns off, return to ON again. It works for me, but at each picture I take, the camera lock up again. What I do to can, at least, take some pictures, is change the Custom Function 6 (Shutter/AE lock button) to option 1:AE lock/AF and then I can focus using the AE lock button (*).
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-26-2014

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

I have that same exact issue.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

Have you the latest firmware update? If so I would recommend calling Canons customer support and begin the process of having your camera issue corrected, particularly if it is still under warranty. if it is not under the factory warranty and you purchased it with a major credit card you may have an extra year warranty through your credit card company. I have a VISA and when my SD1000 Point and shoot failed a week after my factory warranty expired I simply registered it with VISA sent it in to Canon for repair. I paid the bill and sent VISA the reciept and was reimuursed the full cost of the repair.

Bob

"Cameras don't take pictures, photographers do."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-26-2014

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

Hmm I dont believe I do how can I go about updating it to see if that resolves the issue?

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

Go here and follow the directions. Hope it works.
http://usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer?pageKeyCode=prdAdvDetail&docId=0901e0248090cddd

"Cameras don't take pictures, photographers do."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-26-2014

Re: T4i camera completely locking up in the ON position?

I updated it but sadly no luck, I shall try contacting them like you mentioned to resolve the issue and see what can be done Smiley Sad

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement