cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T3i sensor size vs. full frame and how does that effect lens measurements?

Jesse-T3i
Apprentice

I am new to both photography and the T3i camera. I have been reading Jeff Revell's book "Canon EOS Rebel T3i / 600D: From Snapshots to Great Shots". In chapter two he talks about "Lenses and Focal Lengths". In discussing wide-angle lenses he says

"As for which lenses would be considered wide angle, anything 35mm or smaller could be considered as wide."

Latter he discusses normal lenses and says

"The normal lens for full-frame and 35mm cameras is the 50mm lens, but for the T3i it is more in the neighborhood of a 35mm lens."

I understand that there is a 1 / 1.6 ratio between the T3i and a Full Frame camera. In the first quote does the 35mm refer to the T3i measurement or a full frame measurement?

Is there a standard nomenclature to indicate if you are specifying a "full frame" value verses the T3i value? If so, what is it?

When I look at one of my lenses, say the 18-55mm lens, is this the T3i measurement or the standard full frame?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

--Jesse

P.S.  I could not find a publisher’s forum for this book or I would have asked the question there.

6 REPLIES 6

cicopo
Elite

For whatever reason we've come to accept specs based on the 35 mm film format of lens ratings. With full frame being the same size ( L & W) as the 35 mm cameras lenses still use the number system they used to, EVEN when specifically built for a crop body like yours. Therefore to get a useful comparison as to what an 18-55 lens mimics in full frame terms multiply it's advertised numbers by 1.6. This makes the 18-55 kit lens do what a 28 mm - 90 mm lens would on either a film SLR or full frame DSLR. (same field of view & same magnification within a small percentage)

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."

ScottyP
Authority