cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T3i or SL1? Please help.

heathrli
Contributor

Hi all,

I am a COMPLETE beginning at DSLR's meaning I've spent most of my life shooting on my Sony Cybershot P&S and my iPhone. But I am an avid photographer and would like to enhance my photography skills as well as be able to take higher quality photos (please omit any responses about "the photographer makes a difference" in terms of photo quality, I know this).

I would REALLY appreciate any input and/or some direction as to which entry level DSLR I should invest in to kick off my life as an amateur photographer. 

I've narrowed down between the SL1 and T3i. I've also considered the Nikon D5200 (I know this is a Canon forum), but just wanted to put that out there.

My top priorities in what I'm looking for are:

a) ability to capture fast motion (e.g. sports, people dancing)
b) ability to take pictures at night (e.g. the moon)
c) focus efficiency (i.e. ability to control where to focus, as well as AUTO focus during video, macro focus)
d) lightweight and portability (this is very important to me since I am a tiny girl who does not like to carry around heavy things. I don't even own a purse).
e) Still photo quality (more than video quality)
f) user friendly/ergonomic/intuitive controls 

My main use for my new camera will be leisure photo taking (i.e. vacations, travel, events, friends, close ups of flowers, birds, etc). I am not looking into professional photos or selling my captures, and I also do not edit/photoshop my pictures to enhance them. 

I hope this has given a good idea of what I'm looking for and how basic of a photographer I am. 🙂 

I compared the two cameras in-store (very briefly, didn't get to test the T3i) and was really impressed with the SL1. But the T3i seems to be better reviewed online, although it has been out 2 years longer than the SL1. I would like a better understanding of the ability of these two cameras....