Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-14-2016

T3i Not Working (No Power)

Appears that the camera will not power up. 

 

re-seeded sd card, battery, and lens. 

 

anyone else have complete power failures? why these camers dying off so quickly?

VIP
Posts: 8,665
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: T3i Not Working (No Power)

[ Edited ]

One, you could have a bad battery. 

 

Two, I think the display is designed to blank the LCD when your face is close to the rubber eyepiece.  There is a sensor there that blanks the screen.  If the rubber eyepiece becomes dislodged, or a foreign object obscures the sensor, the LCD can be blanked out and seem to appear to have failed.

 

Three, let's not think about number three.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,524
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: T3i Not Working (No Power)

Not on the T3i.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2018

Re: T3i Not Working (No Power)

My t3i comes on for a second and then goes dead.  Won't take any pictures and nothing appears on screen.  I bought new Canon brand battery, charged it, and same thing happened.  What's the fix?  I checked the battery door and SD card door.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,095
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: T3i Not Working (No Power)


@SamCameraMan wrote:

My t3i comes on for a second and then goes dead.  Won't take any pictures and nothing appears on screen.  I bought new Canon brand battery, charged it, and same thing happened.  What's the fix?  I checked the battery door and SD card door.


Most Canon DSLRs (including, I'm pretty sure, the T3i) will shake the sensor when you turn the camera on or off, as a means of trying to dislodge dust. A wild stab in the dark is that something could have gone wrong with the mechanism that does that. Have you tried calling Canon Support?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2018

Re: T3i Not Working (No Power)

Bob:

 

Thanks for response.  I will try Canon support, though from number of postings it seems a lot of people are seeing this.  Just not clear what worked, if anything, for any of them.

 

Sam

VIP
Posts: 11,695
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: T3i Not Working (No Power)

Are you sure the charger is good and giving you a fully charge battery?

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and several lenses!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement