cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suddenly blurry photos

mulvol24
Apprentice

I have been using the EOS Rebel T5 for the past two months taking volleyball photos. It was working fine and picture quality was coming out decent for an amateur photographer myself. Last night I was taking photos and all of a sudden every photo I took came out blurry. The ball was moving and no matter what I did I could not get it to focus, even in sports mode. Any tips on how I can fix this problem? We have our last game tomorrow and would like to get a few last good shots of the seniors. Thanks!!

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

If it did not focus in Sports mode, then the lens is suspect.  Check the AF/MF switch on the lens.  There could be other causes, too.

You may have too slow of a shutter speed for shooting sports with a telephoto lens.  With a T5 you need a minimum shutter speed of 1/(2*FL),  which is one over twice the focal length.  With the standard EF-75-300mm kit lens, this means you need to use a minimum shutter speed of 1/500.  This is a rule of thumb for minimizing camera shake by the photographer.  

When shooting in Sports mode, the camera switches its’ default focusing mode and drive mode.  In Green [A], Automatic, Mode, the camera uses One Shot focusing mode and Single Shot drive mode.  In this mode, the camera beeps when it gets a focus lock.  The shutter button is disabled until the camera focuses.  This almost guarantees that all shots will be in focus.

When the camera is in Sports mode, the switches to AI Servo focusing mode and Continuous Shooting drive mode.  When the camera uses AI Servo it does not wait for the camera to lock focus before firing the shutter.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"It was working fine ..."