Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-19-2016

Re: Sigma 17-70 2.8 Issue with T6S - No Liveview or Video on LCD

Yes Smiley Happy
VIP
Posts: 11,216
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Sigma 17-70 2.8 Issue with T6S - No Liveview or Video on LCD

It sounds like, at least from your experience, that Sigma is getting better CS. Smiley Happy  Of course it wasn't very good at all a while back so the only thing they could do was make it better.Smiley Frustrated

EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV, even less and less other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-29-2012

Re: Sigma 17-70 2.8 Issue with T6S - No Liveview or Video on LCD

I realize I'm replying to an old thread, but Sigma released a new firmware update recently for this lens, which I just updated using the USB dock.

 

As an FYI --- I have a T6s and this lens works well with it, with the exception of not making the lens serial number available to the camera. Both the camera lens menu, and the EXIF data show the serial number as "0000000000". This becomes a small issue when using Adobe Lighroom, in that you need to manually select the lens model in LR before it will apply lens corrections. :-/

 

Albert

VIP
Posts: 8,178
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Sigma 17-70 2.8 Issue with T6S - No Liveview or Video on LCD


@albertj358 wrote:

I realize I'm replying to an old thread, but Sigma released a new firmware update recently for this lens, which I just updated using the USB dock.

 

As an FYI --- I have a T6s and this lens works well with it, with the exception of not making the lens serial number available to the camera. Both the camera lens menu, and the EXIF data show the serial number as "0000000000". This becomes a small issue when using Adobe Lighroom, in that you need to manually select the lens model in LR before it will apply lens corrections. :-/

 

Albert


Create and use a Lightroom Preset  during Imports.

I have a couple of fully manual lenses, which do not write any EXIF lens data.  I use a Lightroom preset during Import to apply lens correction.  I have separate presets for each manual lens.  Even without a preset, it is easy to correct one photo, and then apply the correction to the rest of your imported photos.

 

It is such a small issue that it is almost not worth complaining about.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-29-2012

Re: Sigma 17-70 2.8 Issue with T6S - No Liveview or Video on LCD

> "It is such a small issue that it is almost not worth complaining about."

 

Yup, which is why I haven't bothered doing anything about it.

 

> "Create and use a Lightroom Preset  during Imports."

 

I'll have to experiment with this. Along with the Canon T6s / Sigma 17-70 images, I also import a large number of scans from a Canon 9000F MkII scanner, where I can't even identify a camera, let alone a lens. :-)

VIP
Posts: 8,178
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Sigma 17-70 2.8 Issue with T6S - No Liveview or Video on LCD


@albertj358 wrote:

> "It is such a small issue that it is almost not worth complaining about."

 

Yup, which is why I haven't bothered doing anything about it.

 

> "Create and use a Lightroom Preset  during Imports."

 

I'll have to experiment with this. Along with the Canon T6s / Sigma 17-70 images, I also import a large number of scans from a Canon 9000F MkII scanner, where I can't even identify a camera, let alone a lens. :-)


I have created different presets for each of my fully manual lenses.  In fact, I use a preset for all of my Imports just to apply a lens correction to all of the imported images.  Lightroom does not apply any lens correction, not by default AFAIK. 

 

LR_Import_Presets.JPG

 

You have to pick a preset on the right side of the window, above the CANCEL button..

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement